Published! Literally, Darling

A few weeks ago, a friend sent me an article via Facebook. It was published on an online women’s magazine called Literally, Darling, and as I browsed the website, I noticed a submission form. Literally, Darling looked like the perfect home for an essay I had been meaning to write for some time; I drafted an email and then left it in my inbox, quietly gathering cyber dust as I distracted myself with classes and trip-planning.

On a particularly gloomy day about a week after I had drafted my pitch, I found myself back on Literally, Darling, clicking through articles and wishing that mine was among them. I refined my pitch and finally worked up the nerve to hit the send button. A few days later, I received a friendly reply from the editor. “I am very interested in your pitch,” it started out, followed by the even better sentence, “I particularly like the angle you’re proposing to take…” As Liz Lemon would say, I was high fiving a million angels, and in between reading for class, writing papers, and visiting with my parents, I managed to draft and edit the essay I’d been writing in my head for the past year.

The essay went live today, and the response from my friends has been wonderful. Thanks so much to everyone who has read and reposted; it means the world to me. For anyone who hasn’t read the essay yet but would like to, you can find it here.

If you found your way here from my LD bio, welcome! Thanks for visiting.

I have an almost-completed blog post about the culture clash currently transpiring in my flat sitting in my drafts folder (such a familiar feeling) as well as a second article for Literally, Darling in the works, so check back for new content shortly. For now, I have a train to catch and a few more angels to high five.

In the meantime, here’s a goofy, sratty picture that I never thought I’d find myself in:

L-R: Nessa (my big), me, and Rana (my grandbig) - my incredible sorority family.

L-R: Nessa (my big), me, and Rana (my grandbig) – my incredible sorority family. 

4 Comments

  1. Congrats! That’s awesome! I read the article too, it’s pretty good. Hope SA has been treating you well!

    Like

    • Thanks so much! It’s been a great semester so far – schoolwork is definitely catching up to me though. Hope all is well in DC!

      Like

    • Thanks so much! By the way, my friend and I took your advice and tried one of Fischer and Donaldson’s coffee cream towers – such a good suggestion! We definitely did not master the trick of eating them neatly….

      Like

Thoughts?

